Currently Reading: The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

The Memory Keeper's Daughter

I was supposed to read this book after A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens but sometimes I found myself bored after reading it for a long time. It requires so much focus that at times I get uninterested with what I am reading. To answer this problem of mine, I chose to concurrently read The Memory Keeper’s Daughter along side with A Tale of Two Cities. I will just read the latter when I want to. With this solution, I got to read two books simultaneously which will help me finish them before the year ends and I got to enjoy reading because I have two books to choose from.


This book’s story got me curious when I first read its synopsis on Goodreads. Secrets are very interesting. It has been in almost all of the book photos of bookstagrammers that I follow on Instagram and it has received quite a lot of good reviews and fair ones which says that they got disappointed about the story. Even with the negative reviews, it still made its way to my want-to-read book list. Not all books are for everybody.

I was surprised and thrilled to see its physical copy on Booksale when I visited there last June. I saw several copies of it but I decided to buy it immediately because I don’t want to miss the opportunity. There is no assurance that it will still be available on my next visit. Luckily, I have some money to spare. 🙂 There is another edition of this book but I picked this one because the cover is pretty. The author’s name is printed in gold, the title in pink, the little dress represents the daughter and the snow background depicting the season when she was born. The story of how Dr. David Henry met his wife was also told and I find it quite funny, cute and sweet. ❤ He fell in love at first sight his wife.

She had risen out of the crowd like some kind of vision, her blond hair swept back in an elegant chignon, pearls glimmering at her throat and on her ears. She was wearing a coat of dark green wool, and her skin was clear and pale. He stepped onto the escalator, pushing his way upward through the crowd, struggling to keep her in sight.

I could imagine Amy Adams playing the role of Dr. David’s wife if ever the book will be turned into a movie. She’s so pretty and her acting skills are really good. Now back to reality, I stopped reading on Chapter 1 page 17 and I’m excited to continue because he is about to tell his wife what happened to their baby girl. His own version of the story.

About The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

It should have been an ordinary birth, the start of an ordinary happy family. But the night Dr. David Henry delivers his wife’s twins is a night that will haunt five lives for ever.

For though David’s son is a healthy boy, his daughter has Down’s syndrome. And, in a shocking act of betrayal whose consequences only time will reveal, he tells his wife their daughter died while secretly entrusting her care to a nurse.

As grief quietly tears apart David’s family, so a little girl must make her own way in the world as best she can.

*What books are you currently or concurrently reading? And, have any of you ever read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens? How did you managed to finish it?

-Coolen 🙂

Excerpt and synopsis: The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards, published in 2005 by Penguin Books

Leave a Comment

