Hello December!

The nights are slowly becoming cooler, Christmas songs are being played and houses and establishments especially the shopping malls are all adorned with bright lights and decorations that reminds us that Christmas season is finally here and twenty-four more days to go and we will be celebrating one of this most awaited season of the year.

hello december 2015

Whenever I hear or see the word December or turn my calendar into this month, I remember the jolly and festive family gatherings, fun Christmas parties, cold breeze, the bright smiles on everyone’s faces, the merry carols, star shaped lanterns, decorated Christmas trees, the warm greetings, ham, the solemn mass during the 25th and the first eleven years of my life sending wish lists and anticipating the arrival of Santa Claus on Christmas Day. Oh, you know what I mean. Not the ones who are found in the activity area or in the toy store of a department store sitting in a huge chair waiting for children to sit on his lap and take a picture, but the fat white man with a long white beard, circled lens eyeglasses and who wears a red long-sleeve shirt, pants and hat with white accents and who travels around the world in a sleigh with his reindeers to give gifts to nice children on Christmas day. Honestly, when I knew the truth from my dear grandma I was so surprised and got a little bit sad that he’s not real. On the bright side of it, I’m glad that the Santa who give gifts to me need not to be met only on Christmas season but all year round. And, I don’t need to travel to North Pole to visit his house. 🙂 December will always remind me of the joyful days of my childhood.

Now that I’m an adult, a 23 year old to be exact the arrival of December is not only a reminder of my joyous childhood days but also a reminder of the things I’ve done and the things that I have to do yet to achieve the goals I set for myself. A measure of my productivity rate for the year and a booming alarm clock to wake me up and remind me its my last hurrah for this year to check off those much needed to do list. The message of ETC Channel’s new advertisement for this season is, now that this year is coming to a close we have to let go all of our inhibitions. One of the things that I must do. I believe.

Well, as always I wanted to welcome a new month with a happy disposition in life, a warm hello greeting and a bright smile on my face even though I have no idea what will this new month have in-store for me. I’m excited for this last month of the year and hopefully it would me a merry month for all of us. 🙂

Here is a photo of our Christmas tree for this year which my mother and I decorated yesterday. It really feels like Christmas now here at home. I just hope the weather will be a lot cooler both day and night.

Christmas tree

December is the twelfth month of the year and has 31 days. It was originally the tenth month of the Roman calendar until 153 BCE.

Its birth flower is the holly or Euphorbia pulcherrima.

The birthstone for December is the blue turquoise or zircon.

Read more about this month’s history and how it was named here.

Happy December!

-Coolen 🙂

 

-Featured photo from Unsplash by Annie Spratt

-Data source: timeanddate.com

2 thoughts on “Hello December!

Leave a Comment

