Currently Reading: Citizen Girl by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus

It has been more than two weeks since I last read this book and I have not yet moved on from Chapter 1. I cannot give any opinions yet about the story because I’m still on Chapter 1 entitled, Doris Mindfuck. lol It’s not the last name of Doris, the boss of Girl who is the main character in the story. This book is about a twenty-something so naturally I got interested and bought this book. I also like how red is the color of the cover and the cup reminds me of coffee every time I see it. πŸ™‚

citizen girl

I spent a lot of time on Chapter 1 re-reading and trying to figure out the authors writing style so that I could better understand the story. I also spent some of my time listing down the words I encountered for the first time and want to comprehend more. Here are some of them:

  • brazenly – acting or done in a very open and shocking way without shame or embarrassment.
  • disdainfully – feeling strong dislike or disapproval for something or someone you think does not deserve respect.
  • tome – a very large thick book
  • insouciance – a relaxed and calm state: a feeling of not worrying about anything
  • smocked – a light and loose long shirt usually worn over you regular clothing to protect it from getting dirty, a long shirt usually worn by women.
  • tuckered – exhausted
  • think tank – an organization that consists of a group of people who think of new ideas on a particular subject or who give advice about what should be done.
  • ad nauseam – to a sickening or excessive degree.

Learning new words are just one of the benefits of reading that I really like. πŸ™‚ I’m quite excited to finish reading this book. I want to know how the story went. I read Citizen Girl last December 2014 but put it off and read a different one. The authors of this book are also the ones who wrote the book The Nanny Diaries. I have not read it but I heard that it’s a very good book. This is their second novel.

About Citizen Girl

Working in a world where a college degree qualifies her to make photocopies and color-coordinated file folders, twenty-four-year-old Girl is struggling to keep up with the essential trinity of food, shelter and student loans. So when she finally lands the job of her dreams she ignores her misgivings and concentrates on getting the job done…whatever that may be.

Sharply observed and devastatingly funny, Citizen Girl captures with biting accuracy what it means to be young and female in the new economy. A personal glimpse into and impersonal world, Citizen Girl is edgy and heartfelt, an entertaining read that is startlingly relevant.

*What book are you reading this month?

-Coolen πŸ™‚

Definitions from Merriam-Webster Dictionary app
Synopsis: Citizen Girl by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus, published in 2004 by Atria Books

Leave a Comment

