A Reading Update by Yours Truly

Life has gone pretty fast and slightly downwards lately. I took a break from blogging here for more than two weeks because I ran out of inspiration to write. Oh, not really I just have to. To take care of a few things here and there which is somewhat personal. πŸ˜„ My spare time is spent by reading books if I’m not doing any other stuff. Last month, I posted here that I’m currently reading Citizen Girl and how I wanted to finish it but oh boy, no matter I want to finish it I cannot continue reading since I landed on Chapter 3. It was so not good and I got so confused about how the story goes. The way it was written maybe was the reason why I don’t like it.

To move forward and spare myself from this not enjoyable read, I picked Anne of Green Gables while in the midst of deciding if I should abandon Citizen Girl. After 4 days I was able to finish it. Fully satisfied and with a smiling face although I wish it never ended. I wanted to know what Anne’s life is when she is in her 20’s. I’m going to write a book review of it on my other blog. After that, I read Citizen Girl again, decided to stop (I don’t know if I will read it again) and picked up A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens for the second time around. Then last Wednesday while sitting in my room, I browsed a graphic novel I bought September of last year entitled ‘Page by Paige’. I read it and finished it on the same day. It’s a great read and I love the drawings. I’m going to reread it again next month to take note of the beautiful lines. For now I’m currently reading two books they are:

  • A Tale of Two Cities:Β I’m now on Chapter 3.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray:Β Just a few sentences away to Chapter 3. I just started reading this last night and it seems that I can’t stop. This one is so interesting.

I love reading so much and it’s nice that I can easily find and read books under the classics genre for free through the web. Some of the classics on my book list have physical copies available but they’re quite pricey especially if not bought on secondhand bookstores. I was to able to read Anne of Green Gables and now The Picture of Dorian Gray using a free app from Google Play. How amazing the web is despite its flaws. ☺

My 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge status is 3 out of 6 books pledged. Yes to reading more books this year.

-Coolen πŸ™‚

*Do you like quotations from books? I post the ones I found while reading on Spell The Book. It’s the blog wherein I also write book reviews. Feel free to visit it. πŸ™‚

Featured image from Unsplash by Natalie Collins

One thought on “A Reading Update by Yours Truly

Leave a Comment

