Book Haul: March & May

book haul - march & mayAfter many years of acquiring books (some caused by impulsive buying), I realized that apart from buying books that  I really wanted to read I should also consider other factors. Such as: budget, what book I can get the most use of and whether I’m buying the book because of the hype or not. My latest book purchases are both very worth it. They’re the type of books I can keep with me forever.

  • Besties by Solenn Heusaff and Georgina Wilson – I was so close to buying this one last year after its release but I decided to pass and only buy Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (3rd installment on the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children’s series). #priority I was surprised to know the how much the book cost. It was lower than what I expected. When the opportunity came to purchase the book, I grabbed it and loved it ever since. You can get more from it with its price – PHP 195.00.

I like the book’s cover design and the pages layout. The contents are based on the authors life experiences and the lessons they have learned throughout the years. I also admire both of them for showing their photos without any make-up and are not photoshopped. I’m a huge fan of the authors and reading this book made me love them even more and it feels like I’m talking to an older sister, cousin, friend or mentor . They’re genuine, inspiring and are both beautiful inside out. Solenn’s brother Erwan and Georgina’s sister Jess and cousin Martine also contributed pieces of advice and tips in this book.

Some of my favorite pages:

  • Everyone Can Be Creative (Inspiring Habits from an Ex Nun) by Merlee Cruz-Jayme – A different take on creativity. This book is a must read especially for those who work in the creative industry. Based on her real life experiences, the author shares the things and the words of wisdom she had learned from the people she met along the way. This woman is a tough and beautiful one. Lately I’ve been facing doubts and confusion in making certain decisions and part of the process of conquering the challenge is reading again some parts of this book. I find this very helpful.

Synopsis: CREATIVITY can change the world. Find out how you can be part of this change. Everyone has the gift of creativity. It’s never too late to discover it, embrace it, and develop it – and this book is a great way to start. Two completely different worlds: the convent and an ad agency. Merging these two sounds impossible. One is anchored on serving God and the others; the other thrives on serving the ego. “Sin” is even in the word advertising. But the success of Merlee Cruz-Jayme and her small, world-renowned advertising agency proves that these worlds can indeed co-exist. In this guide to creativity and beyond, Merlee shares the valuable lessons she has learned from her rigid life inside the Benedictine Monastery, and how they prepared her to become the “Chairmom” and Chief Creative Officer of a world-famous company.

“This book is for the creative in all of us. I believe that however hard we try to train our brain to create, it simply takes a bigger power to sustain creativity” – Merlee Cruz-Jayme

Some of my favorites:

IMG_20160716_153300IMG_20160716_153311IMG_20160716_153334IMG_20160716_153354IMG_20160716_153411IMG_20160716_153424

-Coolen 🙂

*Synopsis from Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Book Haul: March & May

Leave a Comment

