ABCs Book Challenge: Experience & Entries

The choices we make everyday ranging from the most simple to the most risky, can lead to many possibilities that we knew nothing about. Opening doors for new opportunities, second chances and privileges that we don’t expect and jumping in and making most of these things began from the conscious decision to at least try.

Last June/July of 2015, I visited Booksale one of my go-to bookstores to just look around, unwind and if I got lucky that day to find a certain book included in my booklist, I would buy. Upon entering the store a book entitled  ‘The ABCs of Hand Lettering’ caught my attention. the artsy craftsy spirit in me woke up. The next thing that happened, I bought the book. The reason: I was interest on what I could learn. Since then, I became one of Abbey’s fans, social media follower and blog reader. When she announced that she’ll be hosting a lettering challenge, I’m one of those people who  highly anticipated it but after the day the first challenged was announced, I was thinking twice whether I should join or not. lol I joined the lettering challenge and it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made. 🙂

The ABCs Book Challenge was fun, exciting and truly a learning experience. I learned a lot about the basics of hand lettering, how to photograph my artworks  and discover my taste and preferences when it comes to choosing styles and colors. It was a 21-day challenge divided into 3 days per week  (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays). Submission of entries on Instagram or Twitter were made before the theme for the next challenge is announced at 8pm. Abbey also gave some tips and advice and also hosted giveaways during and after the challenge.

Entries

Day 1

Day 1: 1 Letter, 4 Ways

Day 2

Day 2: 1 Number, 5 Ways

Day 3

Day 3: 1 Symbol, 6 Ways

Day 4

Day 4: Drop Caps

Day 5

Day 5: Alphabet

Day 6

Day 6: Nickname

Day 7

Day 7: Hometown

Day 8

Day 8: Current Craving

Day 9

Day 9:; Favorite Childhood TV Show

Day 10

Day 10: Favorite Pastime

Day 11

Day 11: Coffee or Tea

Day 12

Day 12: Your Manta

Day 13

Day 13: Focused on Brush Lettering

Day 14

Day 14: All About Creating Drafts

Day 15

Day 15: Favorite Book

Day 16

Day 16: Favorite Film

Day 17

Day 17: Music

Day 18

Day 18: Positivity

Day 19

Day 19: Travel

Day 20

Day 20: Quote in a Foreign Language

Day 21

Day 21: Create a Journal Entry

Behind the Scenes

You can still do the challenge even if it already ended. Just visit Abbey’s website and Instagram. You can also checkout the #ABCsBookChallenge to see the entries of  those who joined the lettering challenge. Enjoy! 😀

-Coolen 🙂

Leave a Comment

